Racing to the Sun: Marc Pritzen is the 2024 SA Gravel Champion!

by | May 13, 2024 | Team Honeycomb | 0 comments

On Saturday, 11 May, five Team Honeycomb riders took on the King Price Race to the Sun, the South African gravel bike national championship. The Elite riders – Marc Pritzen, Jaco van Dyk, Casper Kruger and Tristan Nortje – as well as veteran Herman Fouche, embarked on the 100 mile (162km) journey from Hartbeespoort Dam to the iconic Sun City.

The race kicked off at Hartbeespoort, winding past the Brits canals, through farms and townships to Rustenburg. With diverse terrains like gravel, jeep track, tar sections and singletrack, it challenged every cyclist’s inner adventurer. 

Amidst the intense competition, Chris Jooste and Shaun-Nick Bester broke away from the pack, leading the charge with a 5 minute gap, setting the stage for an electrifying showdown. Casper sacrificed his own result to chase down Shaun, which set Marc up to attack alongside Marco Joubert and get away.

Marc emerged victorious, clinching the title of the 2024 King Price Race to the Sun winner and the new SA Gravel champion! His unwavering determination propelled him to victory, pushing the limits until the very end – even after enduring a crash near the finish line.

Sharing the podium with Marc were his teammates: Jaco van Dyk, securing an impressive 3rd place; Casper Kruger, finishing strong in 9th place; and Tristan Nortje, claiming the 11th position in the Elite Men’s category. Notably, Herman Fouche achieved an impressive 3rd place in the Sub Vets category.

We are immensely proud of our exceptional team, and we celebrate Marc’s victory, especially after his recovery from illness and dedicated focus on the race. 

Stage Results and Finishing Times


  • Marc Pritzen: 1st place (4:35:52) 
  • Jaco van Dyk: 3rd place (4:38:23
  • Casper Kruger: 9th place (4:41:09)
  • Tristan Nortje: 11th place (4:42:11)


  • Herman Fouche: 3rd place (5:00:55)

The Best Verification Agency for the BEE Verification Agencies Sector in the Top 500 Best Managed Companies in South Africa for the second consecutive year!



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *